RSS Feed

Happy Birthday Dad…

Hi, I’m back with another masculine card for you.  This is another I made for DH from my girls to give him.  I actually cased the card from the Stampin’ Up! Idea Book and Catalogue (page 78) – well, that is what it’s there for!  This card was a little ambitious given my time constraints on the day – but I love the fact that you can make a men’s card with lots of layers and it not start looking to feminine – as long as you keep the colours right and the choose the right accessories:

Adapted to suit the colours in the Well Worn DSP collection (you need this for your men’s cards – it’s perfect!), and the stamps in my collection, I stamped the Woodgrain background onto a Soft Suede mat layer, then added a strip of the DSP, a die cut circle and letters. Linen Thread is great one for men’s cards, rather than ribbon.  I also crumpled the card behind the ‘DAD’ for extra texture and dimension.  The tiny sentiment was stamped from the big Happy Birthday sentiment in Delightful Dozen – I just used my Stampin’ Write markers to colour the bit of the image I wanted.

I have one more men’s card to share with you on Friday, so I hope you’re able to stop by again and are enjoying some masculine inspiration.  Til then, Hugs, Val. XX

All supplies Stampin’Up! unless otherwise stated

PAPER: Well Worn DSP
CARD: Not Quite Navy, Very Vanilla, Cajun Craze, River Rock, Soft Suede
INK: Early Expresso, Not Quite Navy (Marker)
STAMPS: Woodgrain, Delightful Dozen
TOOLS: Big Shot, Spritzing Tool
ACCESSORIES: Linen Thread, Circles #2 and Timeless Type Junior Alphabet dies

Leave a Reply

