RSS Feed

End of Term Gifts #2…

I hope you all had a great weekend?  I’m managing to catch up with some family, so that’s great.  I’m also hoping to have a couple of chilled days with the kids, yesterday was, so here’s hoping for another!

Continuing with the End of Term Gifts, today I’m sharing the gifts I made for girl’s buddies!  I’ll explain.  The girl’s school runs a Buddy system, where a child from Year 6 ‘buddies up’ with one of the new Reception children (my girls).  They help them get familiar with the school, watch out for them at lunchtimes, read with them and help them with their ICT.  My girls’ buddies have been lovely girls, and the twins adored them.  And they are sad that they will miss them now they head off for Big, Big School!  So, I wanted to make them something lovely to remember the twins by:

Using the Simply Adorned Range (sadly retired), I made them both a Charm Bracelet.  Wrapped in tissue paper, I added a little ‘Made just for you’ sticker to seal.

And of course it needs a gift box.  This one is made using the Petal Cone die with the bottom trimmed off.  I wanted a kind of clean vintage feel, so I made the box in Basic Grey and stamped with same ink using the smallest Doily Stamp from Delicate Doilies.   I’ve added the bracelet, then tied the box up with lengths of Crochet Trim and some Pink Taffeta (retired, I think?)  I’ve then added a little label cut using the Labels Collection dies and stamped with another little pink Doily and a sentiment.

And what does a Gift Box need?

A matching card, of course!  A Grey Base, with a Grey Doliy stamped panel.  More Crochet and Taffeta and a Thank You sentiment.  Quite simply but hopefully elegant.

The finished gift.  I was so pleased with how this came out.  Just cute enough for 11-year olds, but grown up enough for girls going onto Secondary School.  Thank you to the girl’s Buddies, you’ve made their first year at school really special.

And thank you for stopping by today to see what I’ve been up to.  Til next time, Hugs, Val. XX

3 responses »

  1. Lovely. Handmade gifts always show you really mean what you say. X

    Reply
  2. Beautiful… as always Val!

    Reply
  3. Wow: love these! I’m sure these were a hit with the buddies 🙂 Love the gift and packaging too.

    Thanks for sharing,

    Alex x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

