RSS Feed

Helping Me Grow – Artisan Design Team Blog Hop

Hi There! Welcome to another Artisan Design Team blog hop, where demonstrators from all over the world share their crafty creations with you. This is an ‘open’ hop, which means we can use anything from our artisan box we like.

One of the stamp sets we received in our most recent box is Helping Me Grow. Now, I’m not really a flower girl, so this set was never on my radar, and even when it arrived, I was like ‘I’m never going to use that!’ But then I needed to come up with a project for today’s hop, and somehow it called to me!

As I don’t really ‘do’ flowers, or colouring in; I was slightly stumped what about it was calling to me, but one thing I do love about Stampin’ Up! stamps is the quality! And the fact that even a large, detailed stamp as this would look great – heat embossed – white onto black:

Stampin' Up - Helping Me Grow - Stamping With Val - Artisan Design Team 1

OK, so it looked awesome just on it’s own! But even my clean simple style won’t let me go that far! So, a simple sentiment and a bit of twine was all that was needed to finish it off.

So I decided to play with the same colours, just switching them around on the card for my second version (in fact, I did a third with a Crushed Curry base, but wasn’t so keen on that version!)

Stampin' Up - Helping Me Grow - Stamping With Val - Artisan Design Team 2

I’ve always admired the crafters who can pile layers onto their cards (Kimberley on this team is a great example of this style) – I love how they make it look effortless, like it’s all meant to be there. But whenever I tried, I always thought it looked like I’d thrown my craft room up on it! Over time, I’ve learnt to love and embrace my style, which is that gorgeous cards can be made with just a few elements, as well as loads!

Stampin' Up - Helping Me Grow - Stamping With Val - Artisan Design Team 3

Thanks for stopping by. Please hop on to Allison’s blog and see what she’s been up to with the contents of her box!

Bloghop button_0915

Crafty Hugs, Val. XX

Product List

Versamark Pad

£7.00

9 responses »

  1. I love your cards. They are simple but elegant. Isn’t it fun to use something for the first time and find out how well it works? TFS

    Reply
  2. kimberlyvandiepen

    So elegant and simple. Loving that white embossed on black. It’s SO striking.

    Reply
  3. These are stunning and really show off those gorgeous flowers. Very nice.

    Reply
  4. Simple but so sweet – such a great example of stunning cards that can be created quickly!! Love them.

    Reply
  5. Valerie, your cards are so stunning. I struggle sometimes thinking I have to have more on my card but you have shown me the beauty of simple. Thank you!

    Reply
  6. These are so striking Val! Just lovely.

    Reply
  7. Fabulous Val! Love the white on black. Perfect touches with the pops of yellow! x

    Reply
  8. Simply gorgeous! I will have to CASE these and give them a go with a different stamp set as I don’t have Helping Me Grow (yet…).

    Reply
  9. Simply lovely – these are the perfect example of clean and simple! I just love the white on black with the little pops of yellow. Gorgeous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

