RSS Feed

Faux Mini Art Canvas for the Artisan Design Team Blog Hop

Stampin' Up! - Faux Mini Art Canvas - Artisan Design Team Blog Hop - Valerie Moody. X

Welcome to the May Blog Hop for the Artisan Design Team. The team comprises 20 Stampin’ Up! Demonstrators from all over the world – brought together to share their creativity and inspiration with you. I hope when you’ve finished visiting with me, you’ll hop around the whole team – they really are amazing crafters, and you’ll be in for a ‘wow’ at every stop.

This month, I have created these mini pieces of art as if they are on a canvas – but the ‘canvas’ is made from card. I was inspired by all the box frame cards I’ve seen out there, and how they reminded me of the back of a box canvas frame. I decided to create them as mini canvases then – the trick is to do all your stamping before you assemble the frame. As a team, we are also focusing on Flowers for the month of May.

Stampin' Up! - Faux Mini Art Canvas - Artisan Design Team Blog Hop - Valerie Moody. X2

For this first one, I thought it would be cute to create a piece of art, which also doubles as a birthday greeting. Twice as much reason to put your card on display! I ‘splattered’ the background with my Gold Wink of Stella. It didn’t quite fall as I would like, but that’s what happens with random splatter! I also heat embossed my ‘Birthday’ before assembly. I then added Melon Mambo flowers using the Botanical Builder Framelits and a gold ‘Happy’ die cut too.

Stampin' Up! - Faux Mini Art Canvas - Artisan Design Team Blog Hop - Valerie Moody. X3

This second ‘canvas’ was actually my original idea and the design is based on a card I created for a class a couple of months ago. The canvas is Mossy Meadow. I then die cuts lots of leaves from the Botanical Builder Framelits from a piece of Thick Whisper White. I’d love to see three of these grouped together on a wall – plus it is bang on trend with the banana leaf prints that are everywhere in home decor just now.

Stampin' Up! - Faux Mini Art Canvas - Artisan Design Team Blog Hop - Valerie Moody. X4

Finally I decided to create a mini version – these would make great gifts for a team, perhaps with their names on. I made this one a little different by adding a twine hanger for it – added before assembly again.

I hope you’ve enjoyed my projects this month. I do hope you’ll hop on over to Allison and check out her awesome projects – you’ll love them. You can also see all our projects on our Pinterest Board.

Bloghop button_0915

Crafty Hugs, Val. XX

Product List

7 responses »

  1. I love these clever ‘canvas’ art pieces! I especially love how you used the negative images on the second one — so simple yet striking.

    Reply
  2. Fun decor ideas Valerie!

    Reply
  3. Love these!

    Reply
  4. Valerie, I LOVE these. I must CASE the mini canvas for my upcoming downline meeting. My girls will love them!

    Reply
  5. Stefanie Rabe

    Das sieht superschön aus. Danke für die tolle Inspiration.
    Eine klasse Idee.
    Herzliche Grüße, Steffi

    Reply
  6. Carolina Evans

    Simply gorgeous!!!!!!! Super great idea!!! I can picture it now a whole wall covered….better get started

    Reply
  7. Can we do these in class one day? X

    Reply

Leave a Reply

