RSS Feed

Amazing Birthday Cloud Card & Video

Hi There! 3 days into summer here in the UK and it’s rained for 2 of them! We discussed the weather last week, but today it’s with a good reason as I share with you my fun ‘cloud’ cards!

When do you have your best stamping ideas? Browsing the internet? Playing with your craft supplies? Or, like me, do your best ideas arrive once you’ve tucked yourself in bed for the night? Yes, instead of getting to sleep, my brain suddenly wakes up and goes into design overdrive! No wonder I’m always yawning by 3pm.

Last night’s creative musings though had me coming up with an idea I just loved, and I couldn’t wait to get into the craft room this morning and try it out. And, as it turned out even better than expected, I had to jump right ahead and film you guys a video straight away so that you can make one too!

Stampin' Up! - Weather Together - Umbrella Framelits - Swirly Bird - Valerie Moody; Independent Stampin' Up! Demonstrator. X

I wouldn’t normally use so many products on just one card – but so many of the fabulous products in the new Stampin’ U! annual catalogue just go together so perfectly.

Don’t you just love that cloudy edge to the top of my card? That was the idea that kept me awake! So, are you ready to find out how I made that cloudy edge that just gives the perfect touch to this card? Then check it out:

You Can Make This Card Too!

 

I do hope you’ve enjoyed today’s card and video – please let me know what you think.

I’ll be back again soon with more,

Signature

13 responses »

  1. Delightful cards! Very inspiring!

    Reply
  2. Very clever idea val, love it.

    Reply
  3. chriserendipity

    Brilliant card, Val! Love how you’ve amalgamated all those stamp sets/framelits together so perfectly!

    Reply
  4. This is wonderfully clever! Thanks so much for sharing it with us!

    Reply
  5. Love this. Very clever

    Reply
  6. Marci Collins

    I absolutely love your card Val – brilliant! Thanks for taking the time to show us how you made it. I am going to try this out tomorrow!

    Reply
  7. Love both these cards, gorgeous!

    Reply
  8. Oh wow. Love this card. You are one cleverer lady. I’m waiting for the Swirly and Floral bundles to be delivered but I’ve not had much inclination to get the Weather Together bundle. I liked it but not near the top of my list. After seeing what you’ve done I’d buy it just for those clouds. This is truly such a lovely card Val. Thank you so much for all your inspiration. Take care.

    Reply
  9. Wow! What a creative card, Val! Thanks for sharing the special way to use the Detailed Floral Thinlits’ edgelit to make a cloudy sky. Both cards are really cute!

    Reply
  10. Beautiful cards! Just love them. What did you mean when you said you stamped the clouds through on the one with the umbrella? You’ve certainly inspired me. Very clever.

    Thank you!

    Reply
    • stampingwithval

      Thanks Laura. For the umbrella card, after die cutting the small clouds into the panel, I then stamped using the coordinating stamp through the die cut hole onto the base card below. Hope that helps. X

      Reply
  11. WONDERFUL idea to create the cloudy edge with the Detailed Floral Thinlet! Such a clever and delightful card design …. thank you for sharing!

    Reply
  12. Pingback: You Are My Sunshine – #TGIFC64 |

Leave a Reply

