RSS Feed

Candy Cane Christmas For 1st Christmas Card!

Hi! When you read this, I’ll have been at the dentist getting my lost filling replaced! Are you nervous of the dentist, like me? My nerves are not helped by the fact my dentist keeps changing – they keep leaving! I must have a bad effect on them!!

Today I’m sharing my first Christmas card for the season on the blog for this year. I love Christmas, and I have been creating up a storm for it already, but I didn’t want to start on the cards on the blog too early and end up out of ideas by November.

stampin-up-candy-cane-lane-christmas-make-your-own-christmas-cards-stamping-with-val-x

Today’s card is classic Stamping With Val style – those of you familiar with my work will probably recognise it as mine at a hundred paces! It took me years to find, and then be happy in my style. If you’re still struggling to find or develop yours, my advice would be to stop worrying. You probably have it already, you just need to recognise it, and then go with the flow.

I’m pretty traditional when it comes to Christmas, I’d say. So the Candy Cane Lane suite at the beginning of the Stampin’ Up! Autumn/Winter catalogue caught my eye immediately. Of course, packaging came first to mind, but then I moved on to cards. This is the first one I created with it, and I must say, I’m pretty smitten!

Grab My Style – Tips and Tricks.

  • I love to add a top layer to my cards slightly shorter than the card base. I also sometimes leave a slight border at the top too.
  • I stamped the bottom border using the Stampin’ Up! Candy Cane Christmas stamp set. I used my Stamp-a-ma-Jig to get it straight, but alternatively you could also use some Candy Cane Lane Washi Tape to speed that up.
  • Twine!! Love twine! The Candy Cane Lane Baker’s Twine coordinates beautifully (of course!).
  • Jingle Bells! I struggled to attach these, originally threading them onto the wrapped twine, the weight then pulled on the twine. Instead, I knotted the wrapped twine at the back, then added the bells on a separate piece tied around and with a bow – problem solved!

To purchase any of these items to make this card and others, click on any product image below to add it your shopping cart:

What You Need To Make This Project 

If you love the Candy Cane Lane suite, then you’ll love my Packaging Online Class:

candy-cane-christmas-advert-registration-open

This ONLINE CLASS comes with PDF & Video Tutorials to create 5 different bags and boxes – all large and gorgeous – perfect for your gift giving this year! You can register for this class right here and now – and you will be among the first to receive the class on Monday 26th September! Remember though, packaging is not just for Christmas, and you will be able to re-use these fabulous projects all year round!

register-now-1

For more details on this class, CLICK HERE TO READ MORE, or EMAIL ME if you have questions.

Thanks for stopping by today. I’ll be back soon with more – I have so much in the works! You might want to check out the Stamping With Val Facebook Page too, as I’ll be sharing a very early sneak peek of my next Online Class this weekend. Like the page, and you won’t miss the fun coming next weekend either!

Crafty Hugs, Val. XX

stampin-up-candy-cane-lane-christmas-make-your-own-christmas-cards-stamping-with-val-x

2 responses »

  1. I am a new blog follower and really resonate with your clean and simple style. Great card!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

