RSS Feed

Stampin’ Up! Spring/Summer Catalogue – Passionette’s Blog Hop…

Welcome to the Passionette’s Blog Hop – showcasing for you today the WHOLE of the new Stampin’ Up! Spring/Summer catalogue.  You will be able to hop from blog to blog following the pages in your Spring/Summer catalogue, hopefully leaving you inspired for all the products it contains!  You should have joined me from Vicky’s blog, where she started the hop with some fabulous projects using products on pages 3-5.  The blog hop starts at 10am, so if you’re stopping by before that time, please check back again later when it should be all up and running.

I’m going to be sharing some projects with you using products from pages 6-7.  And since the new Honeycomb Embossing Folder is on page 6, I can indulge my Hexagon love with you a bit further today!  First up is a fun card that I enjoyed playing around with a few techniques to create:

resize_Picture 100

I started by embossing a piece of Very Vanilla card stock with the new Honeycomb embossing folder.  However, to give it a little something extra, I brayered the folder with Crumb Cake ink before embossing, so the grooves around the hexagons has a little ink in them, making the pattern really stand out.  The main image panel is stamped using ink applied to a clear block, which just gives an edge of ink to the panel.  I then stamped the rose image from Oh, Hello onto the panel using my markers.  The large hexagon shape is actually a piece of the Tea for Two Designer fabric.  I stuck a piece of fabric onto a circle of card and then cut a hexagon shape from it.

Now before you go mad thinking there are hexagon dies and you missed them, I’m sorry to disappoint you.  However, I do have a quick tutorial below of how you can create your own hexagon shapes without too much effort.

resize_Picture 084

You will need the above supplies – card, ruler, pencil, compass and something to cut a circle with.  I used a punch, but dies would work too, or even by hand.

resize_Picture 088

So start by cutting a circle from your card.  Now measure the diameter of the circle – that’s all the way across.  I used a 2.5″ punch, so the diameter is 2.5″.  The measurement you actually need though is the radius, which is from the centre to the edge, or half the diameter.  In this case, the radius is 1.25″.  Set your compass to the same width as the radius.

resize_Picture 089

Putting the point of the compass at any point along the outer edge, make a mark around the edge using the compass.

resize_Picture 091

Now put the point of the compass on the mark you just made and then make another further round from that point.  Repeat all the way around the circle, moving the compass point to the last mark and then making the next.

resize_Picture 092

You should end up with 6 marks around the edge of your circle.

resize_Picture 094

Use your ruler to join up the marks to create a hexagon shape.

resize_Picture 096

Use your scissors to cut along along the lines and you should have created a hexagon shape!  To get different sizes, just start with different sizes of circles.

resize_Picture 103

Back to the card, I added the fabric hexagon, the flower image and the embossing to a Baja Breeze case card.  I swiped an ink pad around the base card.  Then to finish off, I added a few little strips of DSP to the flower panel to create a sort of washi tape look.

For my second project, I created a little gift box and matching card, again using the Hexagon Embossing Folder:

resize_Picture 105

I’ve shown the folder quite differently this time though.  I started by embossing a piece of Very Vanilla cardstock (for the gift bag, I die cut the Label shape first, then embossed).  I embossed 3 pieces of patterned paper from the Tea for Two range.  I then (patiently!) sat and snipped out the inner hexagon shapes from the paper to create little piles of hexagon shaped paper.  You then just add a little glue to each of the hexagons in the embossed panel and add the little paper hexagons over the top to get this great patchwork quilt effect.

resize_Picture 112

A little time consuming, but well worth it, I’m sure you’ll agree.

I hope you’ve enjoyed my projects for you today.  Off you hop now to Teri’s blog who is showcasing for you pages 8-9.  I can’t wait to see everyone’s projects, so I hope you enjoy the hop too.  I hope you’ll stop by and visit me again soon.  Hugs, Val. XX

Flower Hexagon Card
Products used: All Stampin’Up! unless otherwise stated
Stamps: Oh, Hello
Inks: Crumb Cake, Baja Breeze,  Calypso Coral, Lucky Limeade (markers)
Card stock: Baja Breeze, Very Vanilla
Accessories: Tea for Two DSP, Tea for Two Fabric, Honeycomb Embossing Folder
Happy Birthday Hexagon Card and Gift Bag
Products used: All Stampin’Up! unless otherwise stated
Stamps: Curly Cute
Inks: Early Espresso
Card stock: Calypso Coral, Very Vanilla
Accessories: Tea for Two DSP,  Honeycomb Embossing Folder, Lucky Limeade Ruffled Ribbon, Window Frames Collection Framelits

12 responses »

  1. Absolutely Gorgeous… great tutorial, Thank-You Vicky 🙂 xx

    Reply
  2. Sorry Valarie… looking at two blogs at same time… doh xx

    Reply
  3. Gorgeous projects hun and you have way more patience than me for all that cutting lol. Loved the tutorial too x

    Reply
  4. Fab projects Val! Your tutorial made me smile as I was teaching exactly the same thing at work a couple of weeks ago 🙂 I’ve been meaning to have a go at the quilting effect but trying to build up the patience

    Reply
  5. Lovely projects! Thanks for the tutorial.
    Magda x

    Reply
  6. Thanks for the tutorial Val, love those hexagons, you must have a LOT of patience!

    Reply
  7. Fanny Stafford.

    I love the idea of inking up the hexagon embossing folder to get the extra definition. I have one arriving in my order tomorrow so I will definately try that. Thanks for the ideas.

    Reply
  8. Fab projects Val…love the patchwork honeycomb – well worth all the effort. Thanks for sharing

    Reply
  9. Glad someone else has the patience to cut all those hexagons Val! It is so worth it…… As always such beautiful projects and thanks for sharing the big hexagon making tutorial… I will be following that!

    Reply
  10. What a difference inking does to this particular folder. Gorgeous projects !!! Thank you for support and for taking part M xx

    Reply
  11. Oh what gorgeous projects. TFS the idea about inking up the honeycomb embosssing folder to give extra defintion. Love all the effort you went to, to make the qulited card by hand cutting all those small hexagons, so very worth the effort for all of us on the blog hop to drool over LOL Now if only I had ordered that embossing folder when I placed my order yesterday! Cheers Donna Z 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment